

Independent Expert Scientific Committee on Unconventional Gas Development and Large Coal Mining Development (IESC) Meeting 112, 29 – 31 January 2025

MINUTES Victoria

ATTENDANCE AND APOLOGIES

IN ATTENDANCE

Dr Chris Pigram (Chair)
Dr Andrew Boulton
Professor Jenny Davis
Dr Jenny Stauber
Dr Juliette Woods
Associate Professor Phil Hayes
Professor Rory Nathan
Professor Wendy Timms

INVITED GUESTS

Mine Land Rehabilitation Authority

Item 3.2

Dr Jennifer Brereton, CEO Antonia Scrase, Technical Director

OFFICE OF WATER SCIENCE (OWS)

Note: OWS attendees include those with full or partial attendance.

Dr Des Owen, Director Frances Knight
Amelia Lewis Isabelle Francis
Ben Klug Jason Smith

David Cameron Dr Laura Richardson

Dylan Stinton Tess Nelson

Ellie Fisher

1. Welcome and Introductions

The Chair acknowledged the traditional owners, past and present, on whose lands this meeting was held, and welcomed members of the Independent Expert Scientific Committee on Unconventional Gas Development and Large Coal Mining Development (IESC) to the meeting.

1.1 Attendance and Apologies

IESC members in attendance and apologies are recorded above.

1.2 Disclosure of Interests

Committee members were invited to make disclosures. Committee members and guests also completed a Meeting Declaration of Interests before the meeting commenced. No actual, potential or perceived conflicts of interest were recorded for this meeting.

1.3 Confirmation of Agenda

The Committee endorsed the agenda for Meeting 112.

1.4 Confirmation of Out-of-Session Decisions

The Committee noted that:

- minutes of the Committee's 111th meeting on 9 11 December 2024 were agreed out-of-session and published on 7 January 2025;
- advice on the Saraji Mine Grevillea Pit Continuation Project was provided to the regulator on 19 December 2024 and published on 7 January 2025; and
- advice on the Beetaloo Basin Unconventional gas exploration and appraisal was provided to the Australian Government Minister for the Environment and Water on 17 December 2024 and published on 19 December 2024.

1.5 Correspondence

The Committee noted the status of correspondence to 20 January 2025.

1.6 Action Items

Ongoing items were noted and updates were provided on the timing of completion.

1.7 Forward Planning Agenda

The Committee noted the forward planning agenda.

It was agreed that the next meeting be scheduled as a videoconference on 5-6 March 2025.

1.8 Environmental Scan

The OWS reported on recent events.

2. Advice on Projects referred by governments

No projects were referred for advice.

3. Other business

3.1 <u>Presentation on the Hazelwood Mine Rehabilitation Project</u>

Dr Laura Richardson provided an overview of Office of Water Science knowledge to date regarding the Hazelwood Rehabilitation Project.

3.2 Mine Land Rehabilitation Authority Roundtable

An informal roundtable discussion was held with invitees from the Victorian Mine Land Rehabilitation Authority. The discussion covered various topics of mutual interest.

3.3 Latrobe Valley Rehabilitation of Coal Mines Site Visit Debrief

The Committee discussed the visit to the Hazelwood Rehabilitation Project and mining rehabilitation at the Yallourn Power Station.

3.4 IESC Priorities Planning for 2025

IESC priorities for 2025 were discussed, including knowledge building, updating information resources, identifying new information resources, and research priorities.

4. Close of Meeting

The meeting closed at 2.40 pm on Friday 31 January 2025.

Next Meeting

The next meeting is scheduled as a videoconference on 5-6 March 2025.

Minutes confirmed as true and correct:

Dr Chris Pigram AM, FTSE

IESC Chair

7 February 2025