## Independent Expert Scientific Committee on Coal Seam Gas and Large Coal Mining Development (IESC) Meeting 41.1 Teleconference, 20 December 2016 Canberra, Sydney, Adelaide, Perth

#### **MINUTES**

## **Attendance and Apologies**

IN ATTENDANCE
Dr Andrew Johnson (Chair)
Professor Craig Simmons
Dr Andrew Boulton
Dr Ian Prosser
Dr Jenny Stauber

APOLOGIES Professor Joan Esterle Dr Wendy Timms Dr Glen Walker

OFFICE OF WATER SCIENCE - SECRETARIAT AND SUPPORT Matthew Whitfort Barbara Musso Emily Grant

#### OTHER STAFF OF THE DEPARTMENT OF THE ENVIRONMENT AND ENERGY

Rod Dann	Natasha Amerasinghe
Office of Water Science	Office of Water Science
Mitchell Bouma	
Office of Water Science	

The meeting commenced at 2.10 pm on 20 December 2016.

#### 1. Welcome and Introductions

The Chair, Dr Andrew Johnson, welcomed members of the Independent Expert Scientific Committee on Coal Seam Gas and Large Coal Mining Development (IESC) to the meeting.

### 2. Advice on projects referred by governments

## 2.1 Follow up from advice on New Acland Coal Mine Stage 3

The Chair informed the IESC that the Australian Government regulator wrote to him seeking advice from the IESC that the proposed conditions of approval for the New Acland Mine Stage 3 comprehensively addressed all of the matters raised in the IESC's advice of 14 December 2016.

The Chair advised members that the letter was available on Govdex.

The IESC discussed the draft conditions.

The IESC agreed the Chair would write to the regulator and provide feedback on the proposed conditions.

# **Close of Meeting**

The Chair thanked everyone for their contribution to the meeting and for making themselves available at short notice.

The meeting closed at 2.45 pm on Tuesday 20 December 2016.

Minutes confirmed as true and correct:

Dr Andrew Johnson IESC Chair 23 December 2016